If You Liked ‘Pilgrim’s Progress,’ You’ll Love the New Book, ‘To Climb a Mountain’

If You Liked ‘Pilgrim’s Progress,’ You’ll Love the New Book, ‘To Climb a Mountain’

NEWS PROVIDED BY

The Book Experts

June 15, 2020

 

AQUIRAZ, CEARA, Brazil, June 15, 2020 /Christian Newswire/ — John Bunyan’s epic allegory, Pilgrim’s Progress, is regarded as one of the most significant works of religious literature ever penned. It was likely written in 1678 while Bunyan was imprisoned for holding religious services without permission from the Church of England. The allegory is a dream sequence in which Christian, the main character, journeys to Mount Zion but along the way is mired in the Slough of Despond by his doubt, fear, temptation, lust, shame, guilt, and other sins.

 

Fast forward 300 plus years to the life of Peter Thomas–a life that reflects to an amazing degree the struggles of Christian in Pilgrim’s Progress. Although he wrote To Climb a Mountain in a similar allegorical style, Thomas addresses abuse, divorce, video games, absent fathers, street kids, and such–the stories of our generation. Peter shares, “I have made the same journey that the protagonist makes in To Climb a Mountain. His experiences are mine, from abuse to marital breakdown, and from doubt to fear…. And I have climbed the mountain, both physically and spiritually, and have encountered God. The climb, for sure, is hard, but it is worthwhile!”

 

Writing To Climb a Mountain has been spiritually therapeutic for Peter and for those who have read an early draft. They have responded positively, at times with tears and questions about where they currently are on their own journey, encouraged to see that they are not the only ones who have encountered stumbling blocks along the way.

 

Peter, a full-time missionary in Brazil, wrote To Climb a Mountain “for those who are finding that the game of life is not as easy as it looks…for the churchgoer who has all the answers in his/her head but has discovered that the rules are hard to apply to real life…for the lifelong Christian who has never understood why life is so difficult when God is so loving and everyone else seems to be doing so well…and for the young person beginning their journey and stumbling with pitfalls and wrong turns at every corner.”

 

To Climb a Mountain by Peter Thomas, 116 pages, PB, $9.99. ISBN: 978-1-951561-28-4. Published by River Birch Press (2020). Distributed by Ingram and Amazon.com. River Birch Press publishes books with a Christian worldview. Its mission is to empower readers for fruitful living.

 

SOURCE The Book Experts

 

CONTACT: Peter Thomas, 011 (55) 85.98884.4511, [email protected]

Source link

Leave a Reply